Animals

I hate how their smells linger

In cars and houses, on clothes and fingers.

I hate their dribble, drool, sniffs and licks,

Their nips and bites, barks and kicks.

I hate the way they scamper and scuttle

And mortifyingly crotch-snuffle.

 

I loathe how their fur covers my clothes,

Gets into my hair, creeps up my nose

Giving me outbreaks of hives, a fear of fleas

Swollen eyes, a frightening wheeze.

I loathe how encountering their dander

Makes me tear my skin asunder.

 

And yet I love them when outside,

Seeing them flying free, running wild

Or on a screen, when a documentary

Makes me gasp, wonder, laugh involuntarily.

I adore their galloping majesty,

Love stories sentimental of canine loyalty.

 

And when one of them looks at me,

I feel our similarities.

A life lives, a heart beats.

I cannot eat their meat,

Cannot stomach flesh, sinews, veins

Minced and chopped, served up as my main.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

